Monday, October 25, 2010

Forty Martyrs of England and Wales

Forty Martyrs of England and Wales


* 25 October
* formerly 4 May


Following the dispute between the Pope and King Henry VIII in the 16th century, faith questions in the British Isles became entangled with political questions, with both often being settled by torture and murder of loyal Catholics. In 1970, the Vatican selected 40 martyrs, men and women, lay and religious, to represent the full group of perhaps 300 known to have died for their faith and allegiance to the Church between 1535 and 1679. They each have their own day of memorial, but are remembered as a group on 25 October. They are

* Carthusians
o Augustine Webster
o John Houghton
o Robert Lawrence
* Brigittine
o Richard Reynolds
* Augustinian
o John Stone
* Jesuits
o Alexander Briant
o Edmund Arrowsmith
o Edmund Campion
o David Lewis
o Henry Morse
o Henry Walpole
o Nicholas Owen
o Philip Evans
o Robert Southwell
o Thomas Garnet
* Benedictines
o Alban Roe
o Ambrose Edward Barlow
o John Roberts
* Friars Observant
o John Jones
* Franciscans
o John Wall
* Secular Clergy
o Cuthbert Mayne
o Edmund Gennings
o Eustace White
o John Almond
o John Boste
o John Kemble
o John Lloyd
o John Pain
o John Plesington
o John Southworth
o Luke Kirby
o Polydore Plasden
o Ralph Sherwin
* Laymen
o John Rigby
o Philip Howard
o Richard Gwyn
o Swithun Wells
* Lay women
o Anne Line
o Margaret Clitherow
o Margaret Ward


* 25 October 1970 by Pope Paul VI

No comments: